Welcome

Welcome to Sac Umpires. To comment, join the new discussions in the forum, read and contribute to the Wiki area about local rules etc., please register or log in.

Obstruction at Home Plate?

1 reply [Last post]
danzini
Offline
Joined: 02/03/2014

Hi All,

I made a call in a Little League Majors game last night that I am 95% sure I got right, but I wanted to run it past you all. Here goes.

Runner attempting to score and the throw, from the direction of right field, pulls the catcher up and into the third base line. As the ball arrives the runner slides just as the throw hits the catcher's glove. At this moment the runner is slightly under the catcher, slid under his leg, but 4 feet up the line from home. The catcher does not successfully catch the ball and while the runner is attempting to get up and score the catcher picks the ball up and tags the runner.

I ruled obstruction and awarded home plate to the runner. If the catcher would have caught the ball I would have had an out. However, since the catcher was not in possession of the ball the runner was entitled to a clear path to the plate.

So, did I get it right? What do you think?

Thanks!

alanmccrn
alanmccrn's picture
Offline
Joined: 01/18/2008
obstruction

I think this is one of those situations that "you had to be there". If in your opinion the catcher obstructed then he was. Perhaps though it was just a train wreck and a "thats nothing" call could have worked. Did the catcher keep the runner from scoring after he lost the ball? Think of the Cardinal/Red Sox play at 3rd during the playoffs a few years ago.

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Recent comments

Who's online

There are currently 0 users and 0 guests online.

Who's new

  • darin gressman
  • Howard L. Burne...
  • bob fost
  • Rhybon mayfield
  • Jwashj27